h o m e
n e w s
c o n t a c t
t h e   m a l e d i v e s
Miscellaneous
»
The Maldivian archipelago
The Maldives, a chain of 19 groups of islands, lie southwest from India and Sri Lanka in the Indian ocean. About 2000 Coral islands form the 26 atolls, for approximately 200 of them are inhabited.
The Maldives are a tectonically unique feature. Like beautiful, mysterious jewels they raise from the deep blue of the Indian ocean and form this dream for snorklers, divers and beach lovers.
The Coral Reef
The Maldives are islands, built from corals. Without these corals there would be no islands. These islands from limestone, formed by a living organism, were formed of millions polyps in thousands of years. These polyps are so small that you are not able to see them. The coral reef is beside the tropical rain forest the most complex ecological system of the earth. More than 100,000 kinds of animal live here. The corals are the central component of this biotope.
In the Maldives archipelago there are most atolls of our earth, whereby the Huvadhoo atoll is in the south with an expansion of 2.240 km2 the largest of the world. The internal lagoon of this Atolls is 70 km long, 53 km broad and 86 m wide. The government of the Maldives recognized that the protection of this unique nature miracle has highest priority.
One looks for mountains or rivers in vain on the Maldives, the islands lies scarcely 2 meters over the sea level. The Maldives are situated at the equator. The climate is tropical and without considerable seasonal differences.
Most of the larger islands have a sumptuous, tropical vegetation, while the smaller islands however consist often only sand and coral banks. All islands are surrounded by reefs and enclosed by a lagoon.
»   read more
t o p
 
M E R I D I S - dive and relax. © 2007 Meridis Maldives Pvt. Ltd. ¦ Produktion + Design: Palme Design Nordus
All rights reserved. © 2007 Meridis Maldives Pvt. Ltd. Any abuse, non-authorized reproducing or copying is strictly prohibited.

h o m e
n e w s
c o n t a c t
M a l e d i v e n
Malediveninformation
»
Der maledivische Archipel
Die Malediven, eine Kette von 19 Inselgruppen, liegen südwestlich von Indien und Sri Lanka im Indischen Ozean. Etwa 1.196 Koralleninseln bilden die 26 Atolle, rund 200 von ihnen sind bewohnt.
Die Malediven sind eine tektonisch einzigartige Erscheinung. Wie wunderschöne, geheimnisvolle Juwelen erheben sie sich aus dem tiefen Blau des Indischen Ozeans und bilden dieses Traumziel für Schnorchler, Taucher und Strandliebhaber.
Einzigartiger Biotop - Das Korallenriff
Die von einem lebenden Organismus geformten Inseln der Malediven bestehen aus Kalkstein und wurden von Millionen Polypen in tausenden von Jahren gebildet. Die Polypen sind so klein, dass sie nicht gesehen werden können. Das Korallenriff ist nach dem tropischen Regenwald das komplexeste Ökosystem der Erde. Hier leben mehrere 100.000 Arten. Die Korallen sind der zentrale Bestandteil dieses Biotops.
Im Malediven-Archipel gibt es die meisten Atolle unserer Erde, wobei das Huvadhoo-Atoll im Süden mit einer Ausdehnung von 2.240 km2 zugleich das größte der Welt ist. Die innere Lagune dieses Atolls ist 70 km lang, 53 km breit und 86 m tief.
Die Regierung der Malediven hat erkannt, dass der Schutz dieses einmaligen Naturwunders oberste Priorität hat.
Berge oder Flüsse sucht man hier vergeblich, die Inseln liegen knapp 2 Meter über dem Meeresspiegel. Aufgrund der Lage am Äquator ist das Klima tropisch und ohne nennenswerte jahreszeitliche Unterschiede.
Die meisten der größeren Inseln haben eine üppige, tropische Vegetation während die kleineren Inseln hingegen oft nur aus Sand- und Korallenbänken bestehen. Fast alle Inseln sind von Riffen umgeben und werden von einer Lagune umschlossen.
»   weiter lesen
t o p
 
M E R I D I S - dive and relax. © 2007 Meridis Maldives Pvt. Ltd. ¦ Produktion + Design: Palme Design Nordus
All rights reserved. © 2007 Meridis Maldives Pvt. Ltd. Any abuse, non-authorized reproducing or copying is strictly prohibited.