h o m e
n e w s
c o n t a c t
C h a a y a  I s l a n d
D h o n v e l i
»
d i v e   s i t e s
Dive Sites

page 1 from 1 page(s)

1 HP Reef PROTECTED MARINE AREA It is a dive with a spectacular reef formation. The entire length of the reef on the south west side is filled withoutcrops of reef, caves and crevices.At the north west side is a large outcrop of rock divided from the reef by a narrow sand channel.The outside of this rock drops steeply from 15m to a large cave at 24m.The ceiling of the cave is adorned with blue coral. Large schools of big-eye trevally and blue fin jack, tuna make this reef a playground for pelagic.

2 Banana Reef PROTECTED MARINE AREA – Depth 3m – 30m Banana Reef, named after its shape when viewed from the air, was one of the first dive sites to be discovered in the Maldives. The best side is at north east end where there are big spectacular rocks,caves, deep gutters and precipitous overhangs.The scenary is amazing and around these big rocks, predatory fish like barracuda, trevally and black snapper converge. On the eastern fringe of the reef in 15m is a school of up to 1000 schooling bannerfish.

3 Lankan Reef Outside Reef of Lankanfinolhu – Depth 5m – 30m It has a world-wide reputation as being one of the most consistent sites for attracting large numbers of manta ray. In twelve meters of water on the south east corner of Lankanfinolhu reef are several large coral rocks which mark the point where mantas converge during the south-west monsoon season. On the sandy section at 20 meters are a number of white tip reef sharks.

4 Colosseum South side of Thulusdhoo Kandu – Depth 3m -30m It is a long reef , that gives the divers the opportunity to drift dive. On the outside corner is the “colosseum”, a semi circular cliff 40 meters long and two meters high at a depth of 24 meters. Barracuda, big-eye trevally, blue-fin jack, dog toothed tuna are persistent performers here and eagle rays frequently drop by.

5 Old Virgin This is an easy beginners dive with a maximum depth of 20 meters to the sandy bottom. Old Virgin lies on inside reef, slightly north of Lhohifushi. It is an arch in the reef around 10 meters through which the diver can easily swim. The reef edge has many crevices and small inlets in the shallower depths where reef fish find protection and delicate hard coral grows.

t o p
 
M E R I D I S - dive and relax. © 2007 Meridis Maldives Pvt. Ltd. ¦ Produktion + Design: Palme Design Nordus
All rights reserved. © 2007 Meridis Maldives Pvt. Ltd. Any abuse, non-authorized reproducing or copying is strictly prohibited.

h o m e
n e w s
c o n t a c t
C h a a y a  I s l a n d
D h o n v e l i
»
T a u c h p l ä t z e
Tauchplätze

Seite 1 von 1 Seite(n)

1 HP Reef Naturschutzgebiet. Der Tauchplatz bietet spektakuläre Riffformationen. Einzel stehende Felsen, Höhlen und Felsspalten sind auf der gesamte Südwestseite des Riffs zu finden. Nordwestlich steht ein großer einzelstehender Block welcher das Riff durch einen dünnen Sandkanal trennt. Die Außenseite dieses Blocks fällt steil von 15 Metern ab und endet mit einer großen Höhle auf etwa 24 Metern Tiefe. Die Höhlendecke ist mit blauen Korallen geschmückt.

2 Banana Reef Tiefe 3 – 30 Meter. Das Banana Riff erhielt seinen Namen durch seine Form, welches aus der Luft gesehen einer Banane ähnelt. Die schönste Seite befindet sich nordöstlich, wo große spektakuläre Blöcke, Höhlen und steilwandige Überhänge zu finden sind. Die Szenerie ist sehr beeindruckend und oft sind dort Raubfische wie Barakudas und Makrelen anzutreffen. Am östlichen Rand ist auf ca. 15 Metern eine große Gruppe Wimpelfische beheimatet.

3 Lankan Reef Außenriff von Lankanfinolhu - Tiefe 5-30 Meter Dieser Platz ist bekannt durch seinen Ruf, einer der beständigsten Plätze zu sein, wo während der Saison regelmäßig Mantas beobachtet werden können. Auf ca. 12 Meter Tiefe an der Südostseite des Riffs befinden sich diverse große Korallenblöcke, welche während des Südwest-Monsuns als Treffpunkt für die Mantas gelten. Im sandigen Bereich auf 20 Metern Tiefe findet man häufig Weißspitzhaie.

4 Colosseum Südlich von Thulusdhoo Kandu – Tiefe 3 – 30 Meter Ein langes Riff, an welchem die Taucher auch bei Strömung einfach entlang tauchen können. An der Außenecke befindet sich auf ca. 24 Metern das Kolosseum, eine 40 Meter lange und 2 Meter hohe halbkreisförmige Felswand. Hier können wir oft Barrakudas, Makrelen oder Tunfische beobachten und auch Adlerrochen sind regelmäßig zu sehen.

5 Old Virgin Dieser einfache Tauchplatz bis maximal 20 Meter Tiefe ist ideal für Anfänger geeignet. Der Tauchplatz liegt geschützt auf der nördlichen Seite von Lhohifushi. In ca. 10 Meter Tiefe befindet sich ein Torbogen, durch welchen die Taucher bequem schwimmen können. Die Riffkante hat viele Mauerspalten wo im flachen Bereich diverse Rifffische Schutz finden und filigrane Hartkorallen wachsen.

t o p
 
M E R I D I S - dive and relax. © 2007 Meridis Maldives Pvt. Ltd. ¦ Produktion + Design: Palme Design Nordus
All rights reserved. © 2007 Meridis Maldives Pvt. Ltd. Any abuse, non-authorized reproducing or copying is strictly prohibited.